USC again dominates DGA Student Film Awards honoring various filmmakers – Deadline


USC filmmakers once again dominated the annual DGA Student Film Awards for African American, Asian, Latino and Female Directors, which are designed to honour, encourage and call attention to outstanding directors and diverse at film schools and universities across the country.

A national awards ceremony will take place virtually on February 17.

The DGA awards 16 student film prizes, eight in the West region and eight in the East region. USC student filmmakers won four of the awards, while UCLA and AFI students won two at each school. Last year, USC students won six awards.

“We are so honored to shine a light on the next generation of filmmakers as we celebrate the 27th Annual DGA Student Film Awards,” said DGA President Lesli Linka Glatter. “Recognizing emerging talent through these awards is part of our ongoing efforts to encourage inclusion in the industry, and we are proud that a number of our past winners have gone on to success in film and television. . We congratulate these extraordinary student filmmakers and look forward to seeing their future creations.

Film nominations at the DGA Awards: Spielberg, Campion, Villeneuve, Branagh, Anderson Vie for the Best Director award

Eligible films were made during the 2020-21 academic year (September 2020 to August 2021) and were produced as a student project under the supervision of a faculty member – students occupying all major positions of the team. Dramas, comedies and documentaries were all eligible – animated and experimental films were not.

Past winners who have gone on to successful directing careers include Ryan Coogler, Jon M. Chu, Steven Caple Jr., Nicole Kassell, Patricia Riggen and Sylvain White.

Here are the winners of the 27th edition of the DGA Student Film Awards, selected by juries of DGA members, are:


Eastern Region
Winner: Sarah Gambles of Florida State University – “Fairydust”
Jury Prize: Yasmeen Purvis of the City University of New York – “Who was Lee Edwards?

West Region
Prize Winner: AFI’s Omar S. Kamara – “Mass Ave.”
Jury Prize: USC’s De’Onna “Tree” Young-Stephens – “Not Just a Name”


Eastern Region
Winner: Bohao Liu from NYU – “Eagles Rest in Liangshan”
Jury Prize: Justin Li of Ithaca College – “Fleeting Moments”

West Region
Prize Winner: UCLA’s Jun Hee Han – “Uncle”
Jury Prize: UCLA’s Sining Xiang – “Foreign Uncle”


Eastern Region
Prize Winner: Mackenzie Rosario of Southern Illinois University in Carbondale – “Forward Journey”

West Region
Prize Winner: AFI’s Jorge G. Camarena – “Spaceship”
Jury Prize: USC’s Joe Perry – “Niño de Nadie”


Eastern Region
Prize Winner: Lamu Shangccho of the School of Visual Arts – “Walk Alone”
Jury Prize: Chloe Sarbib of Columbia University – “Jensen”

West Region
Prize Winner: USC’s Kay Niuyue Zhang – “Mother in the Mist”
Jury Prize: Afton Quast Saler of USC – “Neurodivergent”


Comments are closed.