Australian India Film Council announced with Anupam Sharma as Chairman


A new council has been created with the aim of strengthening the links between the Australian and Indian film industries.

Director Anupam Sharma will chair the first board of directors of the Australian India Film Council (AIFC), which includes vice president and former director of Film Victoria Julie Marlow, and producers Sheila Jayadev, Jomon Thomas, Deepti Sachdeva, Kartik Mohandas and Vikrant Kishore.

The council will work collaboratively with practitioners, producers, investment agencies and seek support from government agencies for the benefit of Australian screen professionals.

In a statement, Sharma spoke of the mutual benefits the two industries could gain from working together.

“India is one of the most prolific film industries in the world and Australia is one of the most professional film industries in the world,” he said.

“By providing a platform for the two to engage, AIFC will be able to foster a whole new era of innovation, diversity and collaboration for the benefit of the Australian film industry.”

Prime Minister Scott Morrison was among those who sent a message of support for the council’s launch, noting the timeliness of its training.

“At a time when our countries face profound social and economic challenges, initiatives like the Australian India Film Council (AIFC) provide an opportunity to explore our capabilities and to capitalize on the special and growing dosti between our two country, ”he wrote.

The Indian High Commissioner to Australia, Manpreet Vohra, was also optimistic about the future of the AIFC.

“As our bilateral relationship deepens and diversifies, it is good to see the creation of a dedicated body like AIFC to focus on the cinematic ties between the two countries,” he said.


Comments are closed.